Saturday, October 25, 2014

Suspensions / Penalties

Cases in Collection

If your case has been referred to GC Services for collection, the court can no longer assist you due to lack of jurisdiction. You may not submit payment or proof of correction to the court. For information regarding your case, contact GC Services at 1-800-333-8395, (Spanish) 1-800-616-6007.

License Suspension

Your driver's license can be suspended at the Department of Motor Vehicles for a variety of reasons, some of which are:

  • Failing to appear at a scheduled court date
  • Failing to pay a fine
  • Failing to correct a violation

If your driver's license is suspended for one of the above reasons, you may contact the court at 916-875-7800 or in person at the Carol Miller Justice Center, 301 Bicentennial Circle, Sacramento, California.

If your driver's license is suspended due to a child support issue, you must contact the Sacramento County Department of Child Support Services - external link.

Failure to Appear

Failure to appear on your scheduled court date may result in one or more of the following penalties:

  • A Civil Assessment may be imposed
  • A warrant may be issued for your arrest
  • A hold may be placed on your driver's license
  • You may be tried in absentia (in your absence) and your case referred to a collection agency

Failure to Pay

Failure to pay any court fine may result in one of the following penalties:

  • A Civil Assessment may be imposed
  • A hold may be placed on your driver's license
  • Your fine may be referred to a collection agency

Failure to Correct

Failure to correct an equipment violation may result in one or more of the following penalties:

  • A warrant may be issued for your arrest
  • A hold may be placed on your driver's license
  • A hold may be placed on your vehicle's registration

Civil Assessment

Pursuant to Penal Code 1214.1, ". . . the court may impose a civil assessment of up to $300 against any defendant who fails, after notice and without good cause, to appear in court for any proceeding authorized by law or who fails to pay all or any portion of a fine ordered by the court."

Failure to respond within 15 days of a Civil Assessment notice will result in the entry of a civil judgment for the total amount due and referral to a collection agency. In addition, a request will be sent to DMV to suspend your driver's license based on your failure to appear or pay.

To avoid these penalties, the original bail plus the civil assessment amount must be received by the court within 15 days of the notice. If you have failed to appear, proof of correction for appropriate violations may accompany the payment to have your bail reduced

Warrant

A warrant may be issued for your immediate arrest for failure to appear, failure to pay, failure to correct a violation, or failure to comply with a court order. Any law enforcement officer in the state of California may arrest you anywhere, including your home or place of business.

To clear your warrant and set a court date, you must appear in person with photo identification at either of the following facilities:

Sacramento County Sheriffs' Department - external link

or at the

Carol Miller Justice Center
301 Bicentennial Circle, Room 100
Sacramento, California
916-875-7800
8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday

In some instances, you may be able to pay your fine instead of appearing in court. Cases with No Bail (mandatory jail time) warrants cannot be cleared at the court.

A court date cannot be set by telephone.