

Superior Court of California, County of Sacramento Waiver and Plea to Driving Under the Influence With Injury One Prior Conviction (Vehicle Code 23560)

(For Court Use Only)

Defendant Name:		
Case Number:		
rehicle while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or dra alcohol in my blood (Vehicle Code Section 23153(b)) and when which act or neglect proximately caused bodily injury to another	rugs or both (Vehicle Code Section 23153(a)), and/on so driving, did any act forbidden by law or neglecte	
I understand that I am also charged with having a convictio of	on for a separate violation of an offense specified in	23560 of the Vehicle Code with an offense date
1 (1.0 10		

I understand the penalties are:

- A. **Maximum:** 1) Misdemeanor: Fine of \$5,000.00, plus penalty assessments of \$13,500.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$16,789.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or restitution fund assessment of \$1,000.00, 1 year in jail, DMV suspension of driving privilege for 1 year, and vehicle impoundment at defendant-owner's expense for 30 days (unless defendant was driving another's vehicle or is exempted pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 23594), installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 3 years, and surrender to court of you r driver's license.2) Felony: The foregoing penalties and fines apply if the offense is a felony, with the following exceptions: three years in stat e prison plus possible 3-6 year enhancements pursuant to Penal Code Section 12022.7, and \$10.000.00 maximum restitution fine.
- B. **Minimum Without Probation**: Fine of \$390.00, plus penalty assessments of \$1,053.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$767.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or restitution fund assessment of \$150.00, 120 days in jail, revocation of driving privilege for 3 years and vehicle impoundment at defendant-owner's expense for 30 days (unless defendant was driving another's vehicle or is exempted pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 23594), installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 24 months, and surrender to court of your driver's license.
- C. **Minimum With 3 to 5 Years Probation:** Fine of \$390.00, plus penalty assessments of \$1,053.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$767.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or restitution fund assessment of \$150.00, plus an additional \$150.00 suspended pending violation of probation, and either 120 days in jail or 30 days in jail plus participation in an 18-month alcohol treatment program, suspension of license for 1 year and restricted license for an additional 2 years upon proof of financial responsibility, vehicle impoundment at defendant-owner's expense for 1 to 30 days (unless defendant was driving another's vehicle or is exempted pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 23594), installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 24 months, and surrender to court of your driver's license. Standard probation terms and conditions to include: obey all laws, not drive a motor vehicle with any drugs or measurable amount of alcohol in your system, not refuse to complete a blood alcohol chemical test when offered by any peace officer, not drive without a valid California driver's license or without valid insurance.
- D. **Assessment Program:** I understand that I may be ordered to attend an alcohol and drug problem assessment program, and that I will be required to do so if I have been required to attend a licensed program pursuant to court order and failed at least once to comply with the rules and policies of the licensed program other than a rule related to the payment of fees (Vehicle Code Section 23646(b)).
- E. **Ignition Interlock Device:** I understand that, if convicted of an offense that occurred on or after July 1, 2010, I will be required to install a certified ignition interlock device in any vehicle owned or operated by me, which will prevent the vehicle from starting if I have alcohol in my body, for a specified term of up to 48 months as required by the Department of Motor Vehicles prior to receiving reissuance of license or restricted license. Additionally, the court may also require this device for a term of one to three years. This requirement will be imposed if I am convicted hereafter of driving while my license is suspended or in violation of license restrictions.
- F. Refusal: If I refused a chemical test (Vehicle Code Section 23577) 96 hours in jail will be added to the jail term imposed.
- G. Commercial Vehicle: I understand that the DMV will prohibit me from operating a commercial vehicle for one year if I am convicted of either of the following that occurred in any vehicle: 1) a first DUI offense or, 2) willful refusal to submit to or complete a chemical test to determine my blood alcohol level. The DMV will prohibit me from operating a commercial vehicle ever again if I am convicted of either of the following that occurred in any vehicle: 1) a second or subsequent DUI offense or, 2) willful refusal to submit to or complete a chemical test.

I understand that if I am not a citizen of the United States, a plea of guilty or no contest could result in my being deported from the United States, excluded from admission to the United States, or denied naturalization as a United States Citizen.

I have discussed any applicable immigration consequences with my attorney.

I understand that if I am currently on probation or parole for any other criminal offense, that such probation could be revoked as a result of my plea today.

I understand that in order to become eligible for a California driver's license, I must give satisfactory proof to the Department of Motor Vehicles of successful completion of an 18-month alcohol rehabilitation program.

I understand that my driver's license suspension or revocation from DMV administrative proceedings is independent of court-imposed penalties and that my driving privilege will not be restored until I provide satisfactory proof to the DMV that I successfully completed the required driving-under-the -influence program, whether or not such a program is required by the court.

READ AND COMPLETE REVERSE

DEFENDANT TO PERSONALLY WRITE YES OR NO IN EACH BOX:		derstand is right	I give up t right
1. Right to a speedy and public jury trial. At the trial, I would be presumed to be innocent, and I could not be	found guilty unless,	io rigite	ngiic
after hearing all of the evidence, 12 impartial jurors chosen from the community were unanimously convinc reasonable doubt that I am guilty. I have a right, through my lawyer, to participate in jury selection.	ed beyond a		
Right to confront and cross examine all witnesses against me.			
Right to remain silent and not incriminate myself.			
Right to subpoena and produce evidence.			
5. Right to be sentenced by a judge: I understand that by giving up this right I stipulate that I may be sentence judge.			
6. Right to be represented by an attorney at all stages of the proceedings and to have the court appoint one a cannot afford my own.	t no charge if I		
7. Right to delay sentencing not less than 6 hours nor more than 5 days after the entry of this plea.			
DEFENDANT TO PERSONALLY WRITE YES IN ONE OF THE TWO BOXES:			
REPRESENTED BY SELF: I give up my right to an attorney			
REPRESENTED BY AN ATTORNEY: I have discussed my case with an attorney, we discussed the rights I am plea, the elements of the offense(s) charged, the possible defenses and the consequences of my plea.	giving up by my		
place, the distinction the distinction of the distinction of the peculiar definition and the distinction in the distinction of	l un	derstand	
DEFENDANT TO INITIAL IN THE BOX:		dvisement	
Vehicle Code Section 23593(a) states: "You are hereby advised that being under the influence of alcohol or drug your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Therefore, it is extremely dangerous to human life to drive while up of alcohol or drugs, or both. If you continue to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, and a	nder the influence		
driving someone is killed, you can be charged with murder."	o a roodic or triac		
I have read this document or have had it read for me, and I understand it. I have personally and voluntation	arily placed the answers i	n the boxes.	
I enter a plea of (No Contest or Guilty) to the charge(s) of violation of the Vehicle	e Code		·
Signed: Date:			
ognot			
ATTORNEY'S STATEMENT			
ATTORNET O OTATEMENT			
I certify that I am the attorney of record for the defendant; that I have fully discussed matters herein wit	h the defendant and advi	sed the defen	dant
thereon;	4-6444-6	-l	
 that I have explained each of the above rights to the defendant, and the representations of the that I have explored the facts with defendant and studied defendant's possible defenses to the 		dant's own;	
 that I have discussed the nature of the charges and direct consequences of entering a plea; 	onargo(3),		
 that I have advised about the immigration consequences of a proposed disposition, and defer 	ded against those conse	quences cons	sistent with
the goals of and with the informed consent of the defendant and professional standards;			
 that I believe that the plea and waivers are intelligently and expressly made; that I join the plea and waivers; that I stipulate there is a factual basis for the plea and that the 	time is waived for judgm	ent and sente	encina
	anno io mantou ioi juugiii		
The immigration aspect is based on California Penal Code Section 1016.3 (a).			
Absentia form attached.			
Signed: Date:			
INTERPRETER'S STATEMENT			
INTERNITION OF A LIVILIA			
I,, a certified/registered in			
translated this form and all the questions therein to the defendant in the language. With the exception	of the defendant's signat	ıre, I have	
completed this form at the defendant's direction. The defendant indicated understanding the contents	or the form and then sign	ea tne torm.	
Signed: Date:			

CR-170A (Rev: 03/17/2025)