Superior Court of California, County of Sacramento
Civil Section

ADULT: Petition for Recognition of Change of Gender and For
Issuance of New Birth Certificate

The Petition for a Court Order for the issuance of a new birth certificate reflecting a
change in gender may be filed in the superior court of any county in California.

The information and instructions in this packet apply to any person 18 or older seeking
to obtain a court order recognizing a change of gender and for issuance of a new birth
certificate. **A separate information and instructions packet is available for minors.

*Note that you do not need to file this petition or obtain a court order in order for the State
Registrar to issue a new birth certificate reflecting a change of gender. See Health and Safety Code
section 103426. You may make the request directly to the State Registrar at the California Department of
Public Health (See Contact information on next page)

REQUIRED FORMS:

- NC-300 - Petition for Recognition of Change of Gender and Issuance of New Birth
Certificate
- NC-330 - Order Recognizing Change of Gender and for Issuance of New Birth Certificate

IF YOU HAVE ALREADY OBTAINED A DECREE OF CHANGE OF NAME please
attach a certified copy of the Decree to your Petition (NC-300)

FILING FEE:
A Petition for a decree of change of name or gender is $435.00, unless you qualify for a fee
waiver. The filing fee amounts can be found at: http:/saccourt.ca.gov/indexes/fees-forms.aspx

COPIES: One (1) original and two (2) copies of all documents are required at the time of filing.
The court cannot make copies for you at the filing window. A public copy machine is available in
the filing lobby. Copies cost 0.25 cents per page.

WHERE TO FILE: Present your completed forms to:

Civil Law & Motion Filing Counter Name Change Window Hours:
813 6™ Street, Rm. 212 Tuesday — Friday
Sacramento, CA 95814 8:30 am. — 12:00 p.m.

FILINGS BY MAIL: Civil Filings may be mailed to the Sacramento Superior Court, 720 9"
Street, Rm. 102, Sacramento, CA 95814
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NC-300

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER:
NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:
TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:
ATTORNEY FOR (name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:
MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY AND ZIP CODE:
BRANCH NAME:

PETITION OF (name):

PETITION FOR RECOGNITION OF CHANGE OF GENDER AND FOR CASE NUMBER:
ISSUANCE OF NEW BIRTH CERTIFICATE

Before you complete this petition, you should read the instructions on the next page. Note: if you were born in California,
you do not need to file this petition or to obtain a court order in order for the State Registrar to issue a new birth certificate
reflecting a change of gender. See Health and Safety Code section 103426.

1. Petitioner (present name): is 18 years old or older and requests an order
recognizing the change of petitioner's gender to

a. [__] female.

b. [_] male.
c. [__]nonbinary.

2. [__]Petitioner requests an order for the issuance of a new birth certificate reflecting the change of petitioner's gender.

3. Petitoner [ ] has [ hasnot already obtained a decree of change of name. (If petitioner has obtained a decree of change
of name, attach a certified copy of the decree to this petition.)

4. | declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of California that the request for a change in gender to (check one)
[ ] female ] male [ nonbinary is to conform my legal gender to my gender identity and is not for any fraudulent
purpose.

Date:
(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PETITIONER) (SIGNATURE OF PETITIONER)
Page 1 of 2
Form Approved for Optional Use PET'T'ON FOR RECOGN'T'ON OF CHANGE OF GENDER AND Health and Safety Code, §§ 103425, 103430,
Judicial Council of California 103435, 103440
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NC-300
INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING PETITION FOR RECOGNITION OF

CHANGE OF GENDER AND FOR ISSUANCE OF NEW BIRTH
CERTIFICATE

(This instruction page is for the information of petitioner seeking a court order. It is not part of the petition and does not need to be filed.)

1. Where to File

The petition for a court order recognizing a change of gender and for the issuance of a new birth certificate reflecting that change
may be filed in the superior court of any county in California. Note that if you were born in California you do not need to file
this petition or obtain a court order in order for the State Registrar to issue a new birth certificate reflecting a change of
gender. See Health and Safety Code section 103426. You may make the request directly to the State Registrar at the California
Department of Public Health. (See contact information below.)

2. Who May File

This petition form may only be used by individuals 18 years old or older. (Minors must use form NC-500.) If you were born in
California, you may file the order you receive with the State Registrar and obtain a new birth certificate.

3. What Forms Are Required

You will need an original and a copy of each of the following documents:

a. Petition for Recognition of Change of Gender and for Issuance of New Birth Certificate (form NC-300)

b. Order Recognizing Change of Gender and for Issuance of New Birth Certificate (form NC-330)
c. Civil Case Cover Sheet (form CM-010)

In addition, if you have already obtained a decree of change of nhame, attach a certified copy of the decree to the petition.

4. Filing
Prepare an original Civil Case Cover Sheet (form CM-010). Complete the original petition and file that form and the Civil Case
Cover Sheet with the clerk of the court and obtain a filed-endorsed copy of the petition. A filing fee will be charged unless you
qualify for a fee waiver. (If you want to apply for a fee waiver, see Request to Waive Court Fees (form FW-001) and Information
Sheet on Waiver of Superior Court Fees and Costs (form FW-001-INFQO).)

5. Court Hearing

A hearing date will only be set if timely objections have been filed. If there is a hearing, you will be sent a notice by the court. Bring
copies of all documents to the hearing. If the judge grants the petition, the judge will sign the original order and decree. Bring copies
of all documents to the hearing. If the judge grants the petition, the judge will sign the Order Recognizing Change of Gender and for
Issuance of New Birth Certificate (form NC-330).

If there are no timely objections filed, the court will grant the petition and sign the order without a hearing.

6. New Birth Certificate

If you were born in California, to obtain a new birth certificate reflecting the change of gender, file a certified copy of the order within
30 days with the State Registrar and pay the applicable fees. You may write or contact the State Registrar at:

California Department of Public Health
Vital Records — MS 5103
P.O. Box 997410
Sacramento, CA 95899-7410

Phone: 916-445-2684
Website: www.cdph.ca.gov

Local courts may supplement these instructions. Check with the court to determine whether supplemental information is available.
For instance, the court may provide you with additional written information identifying the department that handles these petitions
and the times when petitions are heard.
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NC-330

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER:

FOR COURT USE ONLY
NAME:
FIRM NAME:
STREET ADDRESS:
CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:
TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:
ATTORNEY FOR (name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:
MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY AND ZIP CODE:
BRANCH NAME:

PETITION OF (name):

ORDER RECOGNIZING CHANGE OF GENDER AND CASE NUMBER:
FOR ISSUANCE OF NEW BIRTH CERTIFICATE
1. The petition was duly considered:
a. [__] atthe hearing on (date): in Courtroom: of the above-entitled court.
b. [__] without hearing.

THE COURT FINDS

2. a. lItappears to the satisfaction of the court that all the allegations in the petition are true and sufficient and that the petition
should be granted.

b. [ ] Other findings (if any):

THE COURT ORDERS

3. The gender of the petitioner has been changed to:

a. [__] female.
b. [_] male.
c. [_] nonbinary.

THE COURT FURTHER ORDERS

4. [ A new birth certificate reflecting the change of gender described in item 3 shall be issued.

5. If petitioner was born in California, a certified copy of this order shall be filed by the petitioner within 30 days with the State
Registrar. When the State Registrar receives a certified copy of this order and payment of the applicable fees, the State Registrar
shall establish for the petitioner a new birth certificate reflecting the gender of the petitioner as it has been altered.

Date:
JUDICIAL OFFICER
Page 1 of 1
Fon‘n.Approve(lJ for Op}ionall Use ORDER RECOGN'Z'NG CHANGE OF GENDER AN D Health and Safety Code, §§ 103425, 103430,
Judicial Council of California 103435, 103440
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SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA
COUNTY OF SACRAMENTO
720 NINTH STREET — ROOM 102
SACRAMENTO, CA 95814-1380
(916) 874-5522 — WWW.SACCOURT.CA.GOV

CONFIDENTIAL

Name Change Criminal History Addendum
(Addendum to Request for Name and/or Gender Change)

This form will be kept confidential by the Clerk of the Court.

Case Number:

Full Name:

Also Known As:

Social Security Number:

Driver’s License or ID Number;

Date of Birth: Age:

Sex: (as stated on Original Birth Certificate) Male: or Female:

Current Residence Address: (Street, City, County, and Zip Code):






