

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA County of Sacramento 720 Ninth Street Sacramento, CA 95814-1380 (916) 874-5522—Website www.saccourt.ca.gov

Program Case Notice Unlimited Civil Case

The Case Management Program (CMP) requires the following timelines to be met in all cases except those that are excluded by California Rule of Court 3.712(b), (c) and (d) and Local Rule 2.46(B), (E) and (F).

Action	Requirement
Service of Summons	Summons, complaint and program case notice must be served on all named defendants and proofs of service on those defendants must be filed with the court within 60 days from the filing of the complaint.
	When the complaint is amended to add a new defendant, the added defendant must be served and proofs of service must be filed within 30 days after the filing of the amended complaint.
	A cross-complaint adding a new party must be served and proofs of service must be filed with the court 30 days from the filing of the cross-complaint.
Statement of Damages	If a statement of damages pursuant to Section 425.11 of the Code of Civil Procedure or a statement of punitive damages is required, it must be served with the summons and complaint.
Responsive Pleadings	If a responsive pleading is not served within the time limits and no extension of time has been granted, the plaintiff within 10 days after the time for service has elapsed must file a request for entry of default.
	Parties may stipulate without leave of court to one 15-day extension beyond the 30-day time period prescribed for the response after service of the initial complaint.
	No extensions of time to respond beyond 105 days from the filing of the complaint may be given.
Judgment by Default	When default is entered, the party who requested the entry of default must apply for a default judgment against the defaulting party within 45 days after entry of default, unless the court has granted an extension of time.
Case Management Statement	The court will provide a notice of case management conference on the filing parties at the time that the case is filed with the court. A case management statement shall be filed at least 15 calendar days prior to the date set for the case management conference.
Mediation Statement	The Mediation Statement shall be filed concurrently with the Case Management Statement, unless the parties have filed a Stipulation for Alternative Dispute Resolution form with the ADR Administrator at any time up to 15 calendar days prior to the Case Management Conference, as required by Local Rule 2.51(E).
Meet and Confer	Parties must meet and confer, in person or by telephone as required in California Rules of Court 3.724 at least 30 calendar days before the case management conference date.
Case Management Conference	A case management conference is generally held within 180 days of the filing of the complaint.

Failure to comply with the program rules may result in the imposition of sanctions or an order to show cause. Please refer to Local Rules Chapter Two – Part 4 for more information.

NOTE: THIS NOTICE MUST BE SERVED WITH THE SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT.